Afternoon Tea at The Connaught Hotel, Mayfair, London

Looking for the perfect afternoon tea in London? Look no further than the luxury Connaught Hotel in Mayfair.

I took my sister there for a birthday treat, needless to say I won sister of the year for booking it.

On arrival you are presenting with a tea menu, from fruity to traditional you pick which tea you would like served with your cakes. I went with the Royal Connaught Afternoon blend, smooth and elegant.

Then came the cakes and sandwiches. Each plateful of delights is explained, from their fillings to which should be eaten first. Finger sandwiches included cornfed chicken w/ ginger and pineapple, homemade dill bread w/ smoked salmon, egg mayo and goat cheese tapenade in olive bread. Took sandwiches to a whole other level!

Strawberry cheesecake with brittany sable, choco-coffee lingot and cocoa biscuit and profiteroles

Baba samba jelly and rhubarb, ginger Chantilly and verbena mousse and raspberry clafoutis

And for the birthday girl

At first I was slightly intimidated coming to a 5 star hotel but once I sat down I couldn’t wait to try each mini delight. The staff were polite and attentive, 5 star hotel 5 star food.