Review of @MummaSchnitzel popup @THESHOPNW10 Pls RT

Mumma Schnitzel held it’s first popup in Kensal Rise’s The Shop NW10 last week.

IMG_3158

On the menu tonight was the schnitzel burger, a hand pounded chicken fillet coated in delicate breadcrumbs topped with lettuce and tomato, sweet chilli sauce , sandwiched between a sweet toasted broiche bun.

IMG_3154

The chicken was succulent and soft, although pounded the texture remained firm and tender. The crumb was light, thinly covering the chicken, crispy but not seeping in oil. The sweet chilli sauce added another dimension to the burger, a fantastic alternative to ketchup and mayo.

IMG_3152 IMG_3153

We ordered chips and coleslaw sides to go with our burgers.

IMG_3149

The chip were hand cut, not soggy and made to order as was the burger. Sprinkled with cracked black pepper, slightly sweet, these long wedged cut fries with their skin on were incredible.

IMG_3151

I’m a coleslaw lover and Mumma’s didn’t disappoint- sweet, tangy, refreshing, great companiment to the burger. Not drowning in too much of Mumma’s mayo, the red cabbage and sweet carrot was a grated  to a coarse consistency, slightly sharp and not the usual over the top sweet relish which was a nice change. IMG_3150

I absolutely loved the schnitzel burger, I didn’t really know what to expect from  essentially a European chicken burger. However the moist crispy fillet was mouthwatering good and quenched my craving for fried food. Sensational chips! And I mean really good! Mumma certainly put the time in to choose the right type of potato to fry and keeping the skin on was an extra bonus for me. None of that skinny fries business on show just proper seasoned wedged chips. Prices were affordable!.

If I could give any feedback maybe Mumma could add something else to the crumb? Perhaps dried chillies, paprika or some other dried herb to give it some oomph.

The portions were huge-  I’m not complaining!  I wolfed it all down. So fast that I had no room for dessert BUT I’m predicting this is not the last time we see Mumma Schnitzel on the popup scene. I look forward to my next schnitz fix.

@MummaSchnitzel

@THESHOPNW10

Square Meal