Review of EggBreak LDN

The latest egg themed restaurant EggBreak LDN has opened in London’s swanky Notting Hill. The cafe is a joint venture between member’s club Soho House and Ennismore – the creators behind The Hoxton Hotel.

IMG_6080

Converted from a Thai restaurant, EggBreak is an intimate understated affair. Artisan in a way as this is not your average greasy spoon, with an all day breakfast menu featuring modern takes on the  humble egg sarnie and full English.

IMG_6081

I steared away from the egg buns but glancing over at people’s plates I began to regret my decision. I went for the poached eggs on toast with an avocado salad – purely chose this so I could have a dessert! needless to say the eggs were perfectly plump, soft and squidgy. The slightest cut and the rich orange yolk oozed out onto the plate like sunshine. Dusted with sumuc red spice for sour seasoning and chopped emerald chives the eggs laid (get it?) on a bed of nutty chargrilled wholemeal bread with a side of rippend chunks of avocado and torn fresh basil. An eggscellent main course perfect for a light lunch or brunch option.

IMG_6101

I also ordered a side of roasted mushrooms an assorted plate of spouted earthy shrooms, buttery and woody exactly what it said on the tin.

IMG_6102

For dessert I order the baked salted caramel custard with creme fraise. Served in the only hipster way possible of a teacup, the custard is to die for! thick, dense and creamy like condensed milk that has been turned to silky smooth caramel. Each spoonful is melt in your mouth heaven. The rich light creme fraise is sprinkled with sea salt to cut through the sweetness of the custard and act at another layer of deliciousness.

IMG_6103

EggBreak has certainly found an audience within weeks of opening, the place was packed! staff told me on weekends the queue is out the door and I can see why. Serving inventive dishes of the most important meal of the day it’s comfort food but without the greasiness that sticks to you. With a changing menu I look forward to my next visit.