Review of Pizza East Portobello

​This weekend I dined at Pizza East W10 ​a small pizzeria chain (part of the Soho House group) ​tucked away on the corner of the or​iginal hipsterville Portobello Road. The two floored restaurant serves up wood oven pizzas, a popular brunch menu, an array of cured Italian meats and daily specials.
FullSizeRender (4)
FullSizeRender (3)
The place was buzzing full of families and girls who do brunch types, the midday rush continued throughout our stay. I had been to the same Pizza East a few years back but I don’t remember overly impressed so I was intrigued to see if there had been any improvements.
Greeted by the most friendly and welcoming staff I have ever come across my plus one and I dived straight into the menu. I am always eager to try in house drinks and PE’s elderflower and pomegranate soda was the perfect blend of sour and fruity. I also had a few sips of the elderflower and cucumber soda much more tart and bitter from the freshly squeezed lime and soda but refreshing from the floral elderflower and cooling cucumber.
IMG_6483
I was tempted by the wood oven dishes (especially the chicken and wild mushroom) but glancing over at the pizzas whizzing by me I ordered the  veggie option of artichoke, spinach, buffalo ricotta, chilli.  Usually cooked with a cream base (I was difficult and asked for a tomato due to the richness of the cream) the emerald wilted spinach still vibrantly fresh and not soggy, blobs of soft creamy ricotta complimented the chunks of nutty artichokes.
IMG_6496
My blogging companion had the ​nduja, red onion, pickled peppers, scamorza pizza. The spicy Italian sausage spread really packed a chilli kick with the added sweetness of the peppers and mild stretchy gooey scamorza cheese was divine. Think of the best pepperoni pizza in the world and you will be only half way there.
IMG_6497
Of course we made room for a dessert; a cookies and cream cheesecake, dense luscious velvety cream cheese topping infused with cookie crumbs. Crushed oreo cookies made a buttery biscuit base and was not overly sweet.
FullSizeRender (2)
​​
I throughly enjoyed my lunch at Pizza East, the pizzas were filling and of excellent portion size and didn’t disappoint in flavour. It’s ingredients were fresh and of great quality. I would certainly say the pizzas are authentically Italian having a thin crisp crust, strong Italian produce and served piping hot within minutes of ordering. ​Prices are a little steep for a pizza – most expensive was 11 pounds ​​but I am happy to pay that price as the food was top class as was the service.