Review of Drift Bar – Gin It Yourself

Drift Bar have launched G.I.Y – Gin It Yourself promotion, where you can chose your own gin, tonic and garnish to create your own bespoke gin cocktail. Each gin is distilled from a different botanical; herbs, fruits and savoury.

FullSizeRender (6)

I had my very own mixologist who began the G.I.Y with a short history of the G&T and Britain’s obsession with the tipple. To be honest the only gin brands I am familiar with is Hendrick’s, Gordon’s and Sipsmith – none of which were on offer. After listening to the different elements and flavours of  the gins I started off with a light refreshing cocktail choosing the Beckett’s gin which is infused with juniper berries. Paired with a Fever Tree elderflower tonic and a orange garnish. A sour yet fruity floral cocktail, slightly bitter for my palette. The delicate elderflower flavour was masked over by the potent gin however if you like a classic G&T with a twist this is the drink for you.

IMG_7336

For my second drink I opted for more savoury flavourings choosing the Gin Mare which had been distilled from olives, thyme, rosemary and basil. Blended with Fentimen’s lemonade and topped with fresh rosemary this cocktail had the tang of a dirty martini.  An aromatic cocktail with scents from a herbal garden, had a citrus zing aftertaste certainly woke up my tastebuds. Definitely my favourite out of the two.

IMG_7332

Drift Bar is spread across two floors tucked on to the side of the Heron Tower, with a dimly lit main bar based downstairs and their brighter casual dining restaurant on the top floor.

FullSizeRender (5)

FullSizeRender (8)

 Drift Bar is a typical banker bar however the G.I.Y gimmick is a one off and definitely worth a visit if  you are a gin buff. The drinks are not your usual flamboyant speak easy cocktails but the personal service and a cocktail for under £10 is a winner.